Concerned, I went to my local ER. After a CT scan showing that my entire colon was inflamed, and my appendix was normal, I was passed off to gastroenterology. By Monday afternoon was prepped for an emergency colonoscopy.   Fast-forward three days, and I’d received IV hydration at home, seen the osteopath, and was still having bloody diarrhea and pain. Then, I got started on two different antibiotics. Thankfully, these did the trick, and the blood stopped within two days, and the diarrhea within three. While grateful for the remedy, I also knew that research suggests taking antibiotics can alter the human microbiome1. I imagined my gut to be a newly blank slate, like a newborn’s, and decided that the most important thing at that point was to focus on rebuilding my strength and crafting a healthy, balanced microbiome. Using my experience as a functional medicine doctor, here are the measures I chose to take to help support my gut: I also prioritized more fermented or cultured foods with natural probiotics into my diet. One of my personal favorites is unsweetened yogurt or nondairy yogurt (my go-to is from Coconut Cult) twice a day. Through her struggles with mold and metal toxicity, Celiac disease, and a variety of other health issues, Trubow has developed a deep sense of compassion for what her patients are facing. When she’s not helping patients in her practice (5 Journeys) you can find Trubow alongside her husband and their four kids, creating a beautiful ecosystem in our yard that provides nourishment to both our body and soul. She also co-authored the book Dirty Girl: Ditch the Toxins, Look Great, and Feel Freaking Amazing!

4 Ways This Doctor Worked To Rebuild Her Gut Health After Illness - 494 Ways This Doctor Worked To Rebuild Her Gut Health After Illness - 774 Ways This Doctor Worked To Rebuild Her Gut Health After Illness - 50