I ask, “What makes you say that?” I often hear things like, “The other day I was so angry I wanted to punch someone.” “Well, did you punch someone?” is my next question. The answer, “No.” Then your anger is not out of control. Simply feeling it does not equal out of control. Going off and punching someone — that’s a different conversation. The problem is we aren’t really taught about healthy expression, so we end up stuffing it. It seems we are either taught to avoid this feeling along with several others completely, or we have witnessed some really not fun expressions of anger, which makes even considering expression seem terrifying. As a matter of fact, the whole idea of avoiding negative feelings that we are taught makes me want to scream. Excuse me for a minute while I go find a pillow to scream into. OK, there, that’s better. I’ve also been known to take a tennis racket or a fist to a pillow. (Ask my husband.) It must be an amusing scene to watch, but, hey, it works. Even when I was a child, I could be found chucking a ball against the bricks of the house when I was really mad. Anger is there for a reason. Go with it instead of against it. You might be surprised about what you discover. Here are five healthy ways to express it. However, if it becomes constant venting, always about the same topic, it’s no longer therapeutic. At that point it becomes recontamination, which is not good for our mind, body, spirit, or the friendship. Once you’ve allowed anger to move through you in a healthy and safe way, you’ll find yourself clearer about how to move forward. You might also be surprised to find you feel physically better. Julie is a Licensed Professional Counselor and sought after speaker. Whether working in her practice with clients one on one, or inspiring groups with various backgrounds, Julie has built a niche for herself as someone who explores people’s situations beyond talk therapy.

5 Healthy Ways To Express Your Anger   Emotions - 175 Healthy Ways To Express Your Anger   Emotions - 145 Healthy Ways To Express Your Anger   Emotions - 94